Felonies & Misdemeanor Charges Virginia Beach VA

OPEN 24/7 FOR CALLS

Google_Plus-icon W. Ware Morrison Law Group phone

2628 Barrett Street | Virginia Beach | Virginia 23452

  • Ages of parents and children

  • Physical and mental conditions of parents and children

  • Relationship between each parent and each child

  • Ability of each parent to meet the needs of the children

  • Role of each parent in the children's upbringing

  • Home where the children will live and children's wishes

Contact W. Ware Morrison Law Group today for a FREE consultation with us:

757-425-2590

Contact W. Ware Morrison Law Group today for a FREE consultation with us:

757-425-2590

PAYMENT PLANS AVAILABLE

payment options

VIRGINIA BEACH CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS DEFEND CLIENTS CHARGED WITH FELONIES OR MISDEMEANORS

Fighting for the dismissal or reduction of your charges

Even the most minor criminal charges need to be taken seriously. You may face financial penalties and even jail time. You need an experienced lawyer in your corner if you’ve been charged with a crime in Virginia. The W. Ware Morrison Law Group provides knowledgeable and dedicated legal representation through every step of the criminal process, from protecting your rights at the initial bond hearing to aggressively defending your case at trial, if necessary.

Misdemeanors under Virginia law

"I am very pleased with Ware Morrison's representation of me both in court and in out of court meetings..."

- Bestoftimes

Misdemeanor And Felonies

Over 40 years of experience on your side

Misdemeanors are generally considered less serious crimes and carry lighter penalties than felonies. Common examples include driving under the influence, assault and battery, petit larceny, sexual battery and simple drug possession. Virginia has four classifications for misdemeanors:

  • Class 1 misdemeanors — Punishable by confinement in jail for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500

While many misdemeanors carry very little jail time, crimes that would generally be classified as misdemeanors may be elevated to felony offenses based on aggravating factors such as the use of a weapon or the characteristics of the victim. An experienced criminal defense attorney can play an integral part in whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense.

Felonies under Virginia law

Felonies are the most serious crimes under Virginia law and carry the greatest penalties. Examples include murder, grand larceny, burglary, involuntary manslaughter, writing bad checks, forgery, embezzlement and other white-collar crimes. There are six classes of felonies:

  • Class 1 felonies — Punishable by death, or imprisonment for life and a fine of up to $100,000

As highlighted above, Virginia law provides a wide range of possible sentences and fines for felony crimes. The penalties in your case will depend on the circumstances of the crime and whether you have a criminal history. Because both prosecutors and judges are given some discretion when recommending and imposing sentences, it is important to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer like W. Ware Morrison in your corner.

Call today to get help with child support in Virginia Beach, Norfolk or Hampton Roads

 

 

The W. Ware Morrison Law Group is ready to help you with your child support case. We offer extended office hours (8:30–6:30) to accommodate your busy schedule. Call our office today at 757.401.4378 or use our online contact form to set up a convenient appointment.

  • Class 2 misdemeanors — Punishable by confinement in jail for up to six months and/or a fine of up to $1,000

  • Class 3 misdemeanors — Punishable by a maximum fine of $500

  • Class 4 misdemeanors — Punishable by a maximum fine of $250

  • Class 2 felonies — Punishable by imprisonment for life or a minimum of 20 years and a fine of up to $100,000

  • Class 3 felonies — Punishable by imprisonment for five to 20 years and a fine of up to $100,000

  • Class 4 felonies — Punishable by imprisonment for two to 10 years and a fine of up to $100,000

  • Class 5 felonies — Punishable by imprisonment for one to 10 years or jail for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500

  • Class 6 felonies — Punishable by imprisonment for one to five years or jail for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500