OPEN 24/7 FOR CALLS
2628 Barrett Street | Virginia Beach | Virginia 23452
Contact W. Ware Morrison Law Group today for a FREE consultation with us:
"They would reply to all my calls and questions in a very timely manner, and I was very satisfied with the end results."
- Lisa L.
Drivers charged with reckless driving, driving on a suspended license or driving under the influence (DUI) often face severe consequences. The experienced lawyers at the W. Ware Morrison Law Group can defend your rights when charged with a serious traffic offense. Relying on decades of combined legal experience, we aggressively fight to protect your driver’s license and avoid a jail sentence.
In Virginia, it is illegal to operate any motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more. You may also be arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) if alcohol or drugs, or any combination of the two, impair your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Evidence of impairment may include a police officer’s observations (bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, smell of alcohol, etc.) as well as the results of a field sobriety test.
The penalties for drunk and drugged driving have significantly increased in recent years. First-time DUI offenders in Virginia face a variety of penalties, including:
A mandatory $250 fine
License revocation for one year
Installation of an ignition interlock device as a condition of restricted driving privileges
Whether you are charged with speeding or running a red light, traffic violations are more than an inconvenience. Although not criminal in nature, they can lead to costly penalties, increased insurance rates and the loss of your driver’s license.
Fighting a speeding ticket or other moving violation requires you to present your case before a Virginia traffic court judge. You tell your side of the story, and the police officer who cited you will likely do the same. After considering the evidence, the judge may elect to drop the charges against you or uphold the ticket. If you are found not guilty, you are only responsible for the court fees. However, if you lose, you face monetary fines, demerit points and restricted driving privileges. To improve your chances of success, you should seek the assistance of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Driving without a license — Driving without a valid license is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.
Call a skilled Virginia Beach attorney to minimize the consequences of a DUI or traffic violation
The W. Ware Morrison Law Group understands that a criminal conviction can greatly affect your future. We work tirelessly to successfully resolve your DUI or other traffic violation case. For a free initial consultation, call us today at 757.401.4378 or contact us online to discuss your case.
If you tested at a BAC level of 0.15 or more, the law requires the court to impose mandatory jail time. Multiple convictions of drunk driving within five years and 10 years can increase the mandatory jail time to up to one year. DUI accidents that result in property damage or personal injury carry more severe penalties. For instance, causing a hit-and-run DUI accident with injuries is a Class 5 felony, while causing an accident that results in death can result in charges for involuntary manslaughter.
Many traffic violations can be classified as misdemeanor or felony offenses. The most common is reckless driving, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine up to $2,500. Reckless driving can take a variety of forms, such as racing, failing to yield the right of way, passing a stopped school bus, speeding over 80 miles per hour and driving in any manner that endangers the property or lives of others.
Additional examples of misdemeanor traffic offenses include:
Driving on a suspended license — Driving on a revoked or suspended license is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and monetary fines of up to $2,500.
Failure to stop for police — Eluding police can result in a variety of charges and penalties, the least of which is a license suspension of not less than thirty days but no more than one year.